The Zephyr Short Story Competition, run by the Wellington branch of the New Zealand Society of Authors, is taking a break for 2021.

We hope to be back in 2022 – please watch out for news.

Winners 2020

We’re delighted to present the winning entries in the 2020 Zephyr Short Story Competition.

Open Division

1st Prize: A Tiger in Three Parts by William Pigott

2nd Prize: Mottephobia by Renee Boyer

3rd Prize:  Intersect by Angela Woolf

Highly Commended:
The Gatekeepers by Joseph Janiszewski
Equations by Judith Lofley
Everyone Ends Up Staying by Rebecca Haig

Junior Division

1st Prize: Cessation by Jeremy Beecroft

2nd Prize: Tryptych by Cadence Chung

3rd Prize: Under 500 by Ceara O’Sullivan

Highly Commended:
How Come They Don’t See It by Ashley Goulet
Love is Subjective by Lucea David
The Pageant by Alyssa Hartley